Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Berkeley Special Hearing on Urban Shield

June 20 @ 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Share This Content:Share on Facebook6Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on Google+0
Mark Your Calendars
Special Berkeley Hearing on Urban Shield:  June 20th, 6pm
Longfellow Middle School (1500 Derby St, Berkeley)
 
The Berkeley City Council will be voting on the city’s participation in Urban Shield.

On Tuesday May 16 more than 200 people turned out to the Berkeley City Council in anticipation of the Council’s vote on whether or not to continue Berkeley’s participation in Urban Shield. After waiting six hours for the agenda item to be heard and after giving powerful testimony, we were told that the Council once again decided to postpone the vote. The coalition and supporters staged a walkout to show the Council that we won’t stand for this kind of manipulation.

LET’S TURN OUT STRONGER AND MORE ORGANIZED! 

We want to redouble our efforts at the upcoming meeting in showing the Berkeley City Council that they need to stand on the side of the people and not on the side of militarization and oppression.

In the meantime, please call and email the mayor and Council people to urge them to vote No To Urban Shield!
 
Mayor Jesse Arreguin/ (510) 981-7100mayor@cityofberkeley.info
 
District 1/Linda Miao/(510) 981-7110/  lmaio@cityofberkeley.info /
 
District 2/Cheryl Davila/ (510) 981-7120cdavila@cityofberkeley.info
 
District 3/  Ben Bartlett/ (510) 981-7130/  bbartlett@CityofBerkeley.info
 
District 4/ Kate Harrison / (510) 981-7140 /  kharrison@CityofBerkeley.info
 
District 5 / Sophie Hahn/ 510) 981-7150 / shahn@CityofBerkeley.info
 
District 6 / Susan Wengraf / (510) 981-7160 / swengraf@CityofBerkeley.info
 
District 7/ Kris Worthington / (510) 981-7170 / kworthington@CityofBerkeley.info
 
District 8/  Lori Droste / (510) 981-7180 / ldroste@CityofBerkeley.info
Share This Content:Share on Facebook6Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on Google+0

Details

Date:
June 20
Time:
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Website:
http://stopurbanshield.org/stay-tuned-berkeley-vote-coming-up/

Organizer

Stop Urban Shield Coalition

Venue

Longfellow Middle School
1500 Derby St
Berkeley, CA 94703 United States
+ Google Map