Share This Content:Share on Facebook9Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on Google+0
Special Berkeley Hearing on Urban Shield Scheduled!

June 20th, 6pm
Longfellow Middle School (1500 Derby St, Berkeley)
 
The Berkeley City Council will be voting on the city’s participation in Urban Shield.

On Tuesday May 16 more than 200 people turned out to the Berkeley City Council

in anticipation of the Council’s vote on whether or not to continue Berkeley’s participation in Urban Shield. After waiting six hours for the agenda item to be heard and after giving powerful testimony, we were told that the Council once again decided to postpone the vote. The coalition and supporters staged a walkout to show the Council that we won’t stand for this kind of manipulation.

 We have gotten word that the Council will now be hearing additional testimony in a special session and will actually be voting sometime in mid-June at a date, time and location to be determined. We are making sure that this special session will be held in a location that will be able to accommodate the huge number of community members who will be mobilizing

PLEASE STAY TUNED. WE STILL NEED YOUR SUPPORT! 

We want to redouble our efforts at the upcoming meeting in showing the Berkeley City Council that they need to stand on the side of the people and not on the side of militarization and oppression.

In the meantime, please call and email the mayor and Council people to urge them to vote No To Urban Shield!

 Mayor Jesse Arreguin/ (510) 981-7100/ mayor@cityofberkeley.info

 District 1/Linda Miao/(510) 981-7110/  lmaio@cityofberkeley.info /

 District 2/Cheryl Davila/ (510) 981-7120/ cdavila@cityofberkeley.info

 District 3/  Ben Bartlett/ (510) 981-7130/  bbartlett@CityofBerkeley.info

 District 4/ Kate Harrison / (510) 981-7140 /  kharrison@CityofBerkeley.info

 District 5 / Sophie Hahn/ 510) 981-7150 / shahn@CityofBerkeley.info

 District 6 / Susan Wengraf / (510) 981-7160 / swengraf@CityofBerkeley.info

 District 7/ Kris Worthington / (510) 981-7170 / kworthington@CityofBerkeley.info

 District 8/  Lori Droste / (510) 981-7180 / ldroste@CityofBerkeley.info

Share This Content:Share on Facebook9Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on Google+0